(Photo: Ted Roeder for St. Mark’s Poetry Project)

(Photo: Ted Roeder for St. Mark’s Poetry Project)

The Poetry Project at St. Mark’s Church has released the lineup for its annual New Year’s Day cavalcade, which in the past has featured performances by the likes of Eric Bogosian (recently in the spotlight again), William S. Burroughs, Spalding Gray, John Cage, Yoko Ono, Amiri Baraka, Jim Carroll, Kathy Acker, Allen Ginsberg, Patti Smith, and Suzanne Vega.

Aside from being an overflowing cornucopia of avant-garde/counterculture artists, this annual ritual serves as The Poetry Project’s primary fundraiser (admission is $20 in advance), so plan on fighting off the hangover and making it to church on New Year’s Day.

As with last year, familiar names include the reading’s founder Anne Waldman, poet Eileen Myles, Beat poet John Giorno, John S. Hall of “Detachable Penis” fame, Anthology Film Archives founder Jonas Mekas, force of nature Penny Arcade, East Village composer Philip Glass, and dozens more. Also returning are Bowery Poetry Club founder Bob Holman, Sonic Youth guitarist Thurston Moore, and many others.

Here’s the lineup as it now stands.

Hanif Abdurraqib, Julia Alsop, Penny Arcade, Ed Askew Band, Vyt Bakaitis, Jennifer Bartlett, Jim Behrle, Rijard Bergeron, Felix Bernstein, Anselm Berrigan, Edmund Berrigan, Jennifer Blowdryer, Stephen Boyer, Lee Ann Brown, Marie Buck, Lonely Christopher, Yoshiko Chuma, Jace Clayton, CA Conrad, Cori Copp, Joey de Jesus, Ted Dodson, Thom Donovan, Maggie Dubris, Douglas Dunn, Marcella Durand, Andrew Durbin, Will Edmiston, Mel Elberg, Heroes Are Gang Leaders, Christine Elmo, Carlos Estrada, Betsy Fagin, Farnoosh Fathi, Carolyn Ferrucci, Jess Fiorini, Foamola, Tonya Foster, Cliff Fyman, Stephanie Gray, Adjua Greaves, John Giorno, Aracelis Girmay, Philip Glass, John Godfrey, Ariel Goldberg, Nada Gordon, John S. Hall, Janet Hamill, Diana Hamilton, Christian Hawkey, David Henderson, Mitch Highfill, Bob Holman, Jibade-Kahlil Huffman, Brenda Iijima, Lisa Jarnot, Serena Jost & Dan Machlin, erica kaufman, Joseph Keckler, Amy King, Jaamil Kosoko, Shiv Kotecha, Gabe Kruis, Ben Krusling, Susan Landers, Dorthea Lasky, Denize Lauture, Karen Lepri, Kimberly Lyons, Filip Marinovich, Dawn Lundy Martin, Andriniki Mattis, Jonas Mekas, Jennifer Miller, Jennifer Monson, Carley Moore, Thurston Moore, Tracie Morris, Sade Murphy, Eileen Myles, Martha Oatis, Edgar Oliver, Dael Orlandersmith, Morgan Parker, Trace Peterson, Wanda Phipps, Arlo Quint, Church of Betty, Montana Ray, Reno, Camilo Roldán, Bob Rosenthal, Judah Rubin, Tom Savage, Ryan Sawyer, Danniel Schoonebeek, Sarah Schulman, Ramsey Scott, Purvi Shah, Evie Shockley, Nathaniel Siegel, Yvette Siegert, Emily Skillings, Jesse Smith, Pamela Sneed, Patricia Spears Jones, Sara Jane Stoner, Christina Strong, Steven Taylor, Nurit Tilles, Edwin Torres with David Brown, Tony Towle, Aldrin Valdez, David Vogen, Anne Waldman, Ken Walker, Nicole Wallace, Lewis Warsh, Simone White, Martha Wilson, Emily XYZ, Don Yorty, Jenny Zhang and others TBA.

42nd Annual New Year’s Day Marathon Benefit Reading, Jan. 1 at 2pm, The Poetry Project at St. Mark’s Church, 131 E. 10th St., East Village; advance tickets are $20, day-of entry is $25 general or $20 for students and seniors.